15 matches were found
- Wednesday, October 15, 2008 #7618
Please explain the following on how are they calculated as I cant get it. I couldnt paste the Table so for your understanding the data has 6 Columns & 3 rows.
Markets| Pop ln 000s| Reach 1+%|AvgOTS| Reach 3+%|Avg OTS
MumbaiUA| 3703 | 64 | 9.29 | 53.4 | 11
BangloreUA|1139 | 61 | 7.36 | 43.8 | 10
- The Media Guru Answers(Wednesday, October 15, 2008 ):
The calculations are not apparent from the data.
The populations of the markets are probably adjusted census data created by your media measurement resource.
Reach 1+ is the unduplicated number of persons exposed at least one or more times to the relevant media schedule, expressed as a % of the populaiton Complex algorithms are used to model actual, measured media consumption,
Average OTS (opportunities to see) or "average frequency" in US terms is the average number of times each person reached one or mmore times has seen an ad in the schedule.
A missing datum is GRP. Reach X OTS = Gross Rating Points
Reach 3+ is the % who have been exposed to the campaign at least 3 times and the next OTS column is the average number of exposures among this more heavily exposed set of persons reached. The same model algorithms will have been used.
- Wednesday, March 05, 2008 #7507
How do you get the daily effective circulation for specific areas?
- The Media Guru Answers(Friday, March 07, 2008 ):
Daily Effective Circulation (DEC) is a
characteristic of a particular out of home sign.
rather than of "areas." According to the Traffiic Audit Bureau, "the DEC is the average number of persons 18+ who have the
Opportunity to see an out-of-home message during a 24-hour period. DECs
are typically measured and adjusted for hours illuminated and for 18+ vehicle
occupancy (current load factor is 1.38)."
The DEC for signs in specific areas is available
from the operator of the sign or from TAB.
- Tuesday, December 04, 2007 #7455
What is effective cover? Is it the same as effective reach?
- The Media Guru Answers(Tuesday, December 04, 2007 ):
"Effective cover" is unfamiliar. Effective coverage might be a term you have seen
abbreviated that way. Adding the word "effective" to
another media metric like reach means that there
is some limitation to the measurement, as effective reach means
that we are counting only the portion of the reach that has received some designated amount of frequency of exposure.
Coverage is generally used in one of two ways:
- The portion of a demographic group that is in the audience of a single issue / episode of a media vehicle, most often a print vehicle, or
- The portion of a media market with the Opportunity to see a media vehicle issue, most typically newspaper coverage, calculated as circulation ÷ households.
The limitation that might be intended by any particular use of "effective coverage" is unclear. Often cable and syndicated tv programs use coverage to describe the portion of the U.S. in the markets where the programming is available, regardless of whether or not everyone in those markets subscribes to that cable network or ever choses to view the program. In such a case, "Effective coverage" might be one way to put it.
- Wednesday, August 15, 2007 #7405
Can you tell me if the following thing is true? It comes from an article in the economist.com, which I've seen reprinted in a few places, including here: http://doublefusion.com/posts/economist.com--the-ultimate-marketing-machine24.php
The article is all about how the internet is making advertising less wasteful. There's one particular sentence that I must be misunderstanding, which seems to say advertisers are paying for a CPM of $500 to get their ads on a website that comes up in a search. Here is the relevent section:
"By contrast, the new advertising models based on internet technologies amount to innovation. Instead of bombs, says Mr Tobaccowala, advertisers now "make lots of spearheads and then get people to impale themselves." The idea is based on consumers themselves taking the initiative by showing up voluntarily and interacting with what they find online. In its simplest form, this involves querying a search engine with keywords ("used cars", say), then scanning the search results as well as the sponsored links from advertisers, and then clicking on one such link. In effect, the consumer has expressed an intention twice (first with his query, then with his click). The average cost to an advertiser from one such combination is 50 cents, which corresponds to a CPM of $500; by contrast, the average CPM in traditional ("exposure") media is $20. A consumer's action, in other words, is 25 times as valuable as his exposure. "
Am I reading this right? Is this some kind of typo or drastic miscalculation? I've never seen anything like a $500 CPM anywhere (I'm not too confident on the $20 CPM for traditional media either, but it's the $500 that shocks me). Do $500 CPMs exist anywhere at all?
- The Media Guru Answers(Wednesday, August 15, 2007 ):
Search engine results should not be compared to other media
on a cpm basis.
This is a highly advanced form of direct marketing. In ordinary media, such as magazines, cpm is based on a theoretical "Opportunity to see," as if every reader of the magazine not only saw your ad but was shopping for the product when they saw it and then decided to call for information or visit your store. What percent of a magazines audience do you imagine would qualify on that basis? Probably less than 0.1%.
So a magazine with a $20 cpm would deliver a $20,000 cpm on that basis, to compare to your $500
In search engine results, you only pay 50 cents for those people who have decided to shop for what you are selling and then have visited your your online "Storefront."
So it's a good deal, and traditional cpm is an irrelevant measure in this case.
Isn't a consumer who actually browses your catalog or visits your store 25 times more valuable than one who may or may not have even seen your ad, much less cared about it?
- Saturday, August 06, 2005 #6990
Hi MG -
What are your thoughts on traditional media's frequency vs. the new theory of "engagement"?
- The Media Guru Answers(Saturday, August 06, 2005 ):
Engagement means "probably saw." This moves measurement from simple "Opportunity to see," which is based on the traditional Nielsen style of audience impressions measurment onward to a value based on attentiveness or other adjustment that reflects whether a person in the counted audience actually was engaged in the commercial or left the room, started a conversation, etc. It's certainly not new, but is becoming more recognized. Marketers have been using such adjustments for at least 30 years to get more realistic evaluations of communications. Erwin Ephron writes about engagement.
- Tuesday, February 22, 2005 #6806
I have been asked to evaluate spending money on a transit program versus adding GRPs and/or weeks to our existing radio campaign with the same amount of budget. The problem is that comparing GRPs for one versus the other, transit clearly has higher levels and extremely high frequency if you believe the numbers they provide. Any additional thoughts?
- The Media Guru Answers(Wednesday, February 23, 2005 ):
Transit GRP are real, but they are based on traffic with an Opportunity to see the poster. The real distinction of out of home is the limited message as compared to radio.
If your message can be simple, and reach/frequency are your top communications goals, then transit can be a powerful addition and probably more effective than adding more to an already adequate schedule in your main medium.
- Sunday, April 25, 2004 #6471
1)what is the significance of OTS in selecting a eedia vechile
2)can u clarify the concept of BDI & CDI with a suitable example
- The Media Guru Answers(Sunday, April 25, 2004 ):
1. Any vehicle offers a measured number of "opportunities to see." Ultimately one may chosse vehicles for a plan based on cost per OTS.
Click here to see Guru discussion of BDI / CDI.
- Saturday, June 21, 2003 #6029
Dear Guru, Please help me to clarify these issues :
- What CPT and CPM stand for ?
- Are the formulas to calculate them as follows :
- Impression and Reach in thousand are not the same,are they? Impression include duplication but the reach in thousand does not. Impression = Reach(000)x OTS?
- Therefore, there must be different b/w CPT & CPM. But it seems that most books consider them as the same.
- GRP = OTS x Reach (%)or GRP = Frequency x Reach (%)?
- Does OTS have some meaning of impression?
Since these issue confuse me now so much and I current get a stuck in preparing a report. Pls do reply me as soon as possible. Many thanks.
- The Media Guru Answers(Saturday, June 21, 2003 ):
You have tangled up several ideas and defintions. In different countries, some of these terms are used differently or not used. For example, in the Guru's base of the U.S., we do not use "opportunities to see (OTS)," and though you may be in Thailand, the Guru will not assume so.
CPM stands for cost per thousand impressions; the "M" is the Roman numeral M, meaning one thousand. CPT is not familiar in the US, but is probably another indicator of Cost per Thousand impressions.
The Guru most often sees "OTS" used as equivalent to "impressions" but sometimes as a reference to average frequency, so here are the simplest definitions.
"Impressions" are the number of advertising exposures, i.e. the number of different people exposed to advertising times the average number of occasions on which they are exposed. Thus, duplication is included.
"number of different people exposed" is equivalent to "reach."
"Number of occasions on which they are exposed" is equivalent to "frequency."
CPM is cost of advertising divided by impressions in thousands. Reach is not involved.
When reach is expressed as a percentage of a target group, then reach x frequency = GRP.
- Tuesday, March 18, 2003 #5886
Greetings Guru! Some clarification on basic web-site metrics would be much appreciated.
What are the current evaluation metrics? Is it Unique visits, page views, and time spent on site? I am confused about the utility of page views- am I correct in my understanding that a page view does not mean that the ad was actually "served" and if it was not served, then there was no "Opportunity to see", so what is the value in reporting this number? Are web-sites providing Ad-view data?
- The Media Guru Answers(Thursday, March 20, 2003 ):
Are you evaluating a site or an ad campaign? Unique visits is about the site's reach. Pageviews is about the sites total impressions, If a page is designed with ad positions, an ad is served when the page is served. This does not mean the user saw an ad if the user has images turned off or uses ad-blocking software, but the site can't control that, although it can track it.
Generally, web sites provide you ad view data about a campaign if you are the buyer. Thre are various ways to provide thie data, ranging from third party ad-serving servces to site's internal server logs.
Time spent relates to a site's opportunity to expose pages and ads; of more use to the site operator than the media planner.
- Wednesday, April 10, 2002 #5214
please tell me all about OTS (Opportunity to see)
- The Media Guru Answers(Monday, April 15, 2002 ):
Click here to see past Guru responses about OTS
- Wednesday, January 23, 2002 #5030
Hi Mr Guru.
Just wondering : in the basic (reachxfrequency)xCPM/1000 formula, I have a question about reach. Are we talking about the number of people who see the ad, or who might see the ad ? E.g. the 500,000 people who drive by a billboard every week, but who don't necessarily see it.
Thanks a lot.
- The Media Guru Answers(Thursday, January 31, 2002 ):
There is a term - "Opportunity to see" - more commonly used in Europe and probably more descriptive than our own "impressions." Each research measurement has a standard for inclusion in the reported audience. For outdoor it may be something like: the number of cars passing a billboard each day time an average of 1.7 passengers per car. In magazine, the number of persons who say they looked into the most recent issue. There are arguements about why each overstates the numbers actually exposed to the ad. However, reach and frequency systems are usually built to deal with the reported audiences fed to them. Most sytems have allowances to adjust inputs or results based on attentiveness, noting or other refinements.
- Friday, August 17, 2001 #4663
Love, love, love this site! I think you are providing a wonderful service. I read a recent question which as about an OTS formula (OTC?) I have never heard of this term. Would you tell me what the letters stand for? (I looked in your media terms section, and it is not there.) Thanks,
- The Media Guru Answers(Friday, August 17, 2001 ):
Thank you for your kind words.
"OTS" or "opportunities to see" is used differently by various practitioners. One meaning is equivalent to impressions, or the number of exposures of a campaign to individual members of the target demographic; a summing of the audiences of all the advertsing occasions of a campaign. In this sense, "average" is not an appropriate modifier. Others may use the phrase "average OTS" as we in the US use "average frequency."
The term OTS is not commonly used in the US, but is standard in the rest of the English speaking world.
- Friday, July 13, 2001 #4576
I have enjoyed your past insights a lot, and I wonder if there is an answer to my problem as weel. I am wondering if there are some measurement that indicates the propbablility of an ad being seen. For example, when a magazine quotes a CPM it is based on how many people that have the Opportunity to see an ad. Is there a measurement or an industry standard ratio of CPM verus how many people that are likely to actually see/register the ad when they read the magazine (or some other media).
- The Media Guru Answers(Friday, July 13, 2001 ):
Various measurs of this likelihood of ads being seen and/or remembered are online at The Magazine Publishers' Association, for example The Magazine Handbook.
- Saturday, December 23, 2000 #4063
I am a very new media planner so I have a very basic question. What is the difference between average Frequency and average OTS and what is the formula for their calculation.
Thanking you in advace.
- The Media Guru Answers(Saturday, December 23, 2000 ):
"OTS" or "opportunities to see" is used differently by various practitioners. One meaning is equivalent to impressions, or the number of exposures of a campaign to individual members ot the target demographic; a summing of the audiences of all the advertsing occasions of a campaign. In this sense, "average" is not an appropriate modifier.
Average frequency is the average number of exposures experienced by the members of the target who have been exposed to the campaign (net reach) over a measured time period such as 4 weeks.
Gross impressions ÷ net reach
GRPs ÷ percent reach.
- Wednesday, November 19, 1997 #1459
Does it make any sense to calculate GRPs not having reach and frequency stated?
My campaign brings me 530 GRps - whatdoes it mean for me? Could I calculate OTS if I have only GRPs?
- The Media Guru Answers(Saturday, November 22, 1997 ):
GRPs are simply a summation of all the audiences of all the
ads in a plan. They give you the "boxcar" size of a plan
without any detail. This can be used to compare to other
campaigns or other times, in crude terms.
If by OTS, you mean "opportunities to see," which is
equivalent to Impressions, then the calculation is simple.
GRPs are a percentage of the population. Whatever your
GRP's target group, you need to know the total "universe" of
that population for which the GRPs are stated. Then, if you
have 500 GRPs, you have impressions equal to the population,