15 matches were found
- Monday, May 26, 2008 #7553
Once again thank you for your insight. I understand your view on C-level executives and physicians etc, if we would be able to break down the demographics within day parts this may change the possible CPM.
The sceens are deployed in different markets, what do you mean by selling individual screens?
What is it you mean by GROSS impressions is the following what you are implying :
3,780,000 (total viewrs on all screens per week)are the unique impressions as this is measured for one ad viewed per person therefore as the viewers are captive and are there for the full 20 minute loop they see all 20 ads therefore creating 20 impressions GROSS per viewer, 20 gross impressions per viewer X 60 viewers daily X7 days X9000 screens =75,600,000 GROSS impressions weekly or 302,400,000 GROSS impressions per month, I do not believe we will be able to charge on this number, correct?
Once again thank you
- The Media Guru Answers(Monday, May 26, 2008 ):
You should be thinking about this in terms of what you are selling to the individual advertiser.
Are you selling him 20 impressions per viewer? No. You are selling him just one, and then you will hopefully sell the same to 19 other advertisers, correct?
Although the GROSS impressions of your medium may be 75,600,000 per week, the gross for a single ad is only 3,780,000. The net unduplicated is 3,780,000 as well, but there is heavy (virtually total) duplication between one ad's 3,780,000 and the next ad's impressions in that loop.
Charges would be based on the gross for one advertiser: 3,780,000. If the advertiser buys for a week, you charge for a week. If the advertiser buys for a month, you charge for a month. The Guru would expect some king of economy-of-scale discount for a monthly advertiser.
The Guru's reference to selling individual screens is based on your prior references to "$10 per screen." If you do not intend to sell any advertiser less than all 9,000 screens, you should stop talking about $10 per screen, and only talk about the $90,000 price an advertiser must deal with. $10 is strictly an internal number for your system.
- Monday, July 16, 2007 #7389
Dear Media Guru,
I am currently researching marketing habits, i am looking for a breakdown of say how many adverts, websites, brands etc we see on average per day?
- The Media Guru Answers(Sunday, July 22, 2007 ):
Some say the total number is in the neighborhood
of 2000 a day, a highly sensationalized figure popular in media reporting. Clearly, even when fully engaged in media consumption one is only going to see 30 or so ads in an average hour of TV, for example, and even if you are skimming through a magazine at the same time, would the number double? A person is only likley to be exposed to at most 16 hours per day of ads (gotta sleep, too), and probably takes some time off ad viewing to work. "Brand exposure" is not readily measurable, if you want to count everytime a label might be seen in the day. A person who spent an hour or two shopping the supermarket or Home Depot could well add a couple of thousand brand exposures that day.
In 2004, Media Dynamics, Inc's "TV Dimensions" estimated a daily potential exposure of 288 ads, counting TV, radio, print and internet.
- Thursday, April 07, 2005 #6887
Can you give an updated response to the question of how many ads the average person is exposed to every day? I read your 1997 response, but it seems that now with the Internet and so many more types of "interruption" advertising, that number must have increased. And while we're on the subject, what would the number be for the average American 25 years ago?
- The Media Guru Answers(Sunday, April 10, 2005 ):
It is crucial to keep in mind that a person has only so much time in a day to experience commerical exposure, And that hasn't changed much in 25 years.
Assume a person has 16 waking hours a day, or 960 munutes.
Assume that this person works or attends class or otherwise is not experiencing significant ad exposure for 7 of those hours, leaving 9 media consumption hours, or 540 minutes. And assume that one-quarter of that time is consumed by ad exposure, or 135 minutes. And if :30 is the average broadcast ad length these days, that's 270 ads if it's all broadcast. Print must be calculated somewhat differently, but lets say one ad exposure for two minutes of consumtion here as well. If web surfing time has replaced 1 daily hour of TV time for the average person in 25 years, how many more ads per minute does the intenet present than TV? On a content site, even if it's 2 per minute, the overall effect on average daily ad exposure is minimal. The Guru would guess less than 10% change in daily ad exposures over 25 years, again because there is only so much time in which to experience ad exposure.
- Friday, January 02, 2004 #6326
I want to advertise a product via direct response TV featuring an 800 number. I plan to spend $30,000 for testing over a 10 day period in the U.S. market.
I called this company I found online to inquire about the cheap TV spots offered on their site. They suggested I allocate the entire budget to air on cable networks via national satellite, which has a subscriber base of 8.6 million. They quoted the cost of a 30-second spot on a top tier network airing in overnight at $80 and in daytime between $175 and $225.
Having never heard of national satellite advertising, I tried to investigate further on the web. The only info I found came from a discussion group upset about a TV show on Sci-fi being canceled back in February 2000. They were discussing how to place an ad during the show's last episode on satellite and had uncovered basically the same rates I was previously quoted.
I also found your answer to a like question asked around the same time (Monday, April 24, 2000, #3415) in which you replied, "you may be looking for something that doesn't exist".
You further explained that "national ads on cable networks are sold by the networks as national and run as the network is carried, whether the viewer receives the program through cable or a SATELLITE receiver. Local, cable-originated advertising runs in time slots reserved for local use. These "local" slots, about 2 minutes per hour, could theoretically be sold nationally by the SATELLITE carriers".
You then, however, gave numerous reasons why even that wouldn't work.
My question is this: Three+ years later, has anything changed? Is the media buy I described now a viable option? If it is, would this be the way to go or would I be better off putting it on national cable? I would appreciate any other information you care to share on this subject, be it advise or referrals.
- The Media Guru Answers(Friday, January 02, 2004 ):
Today, there are spots available on DirecTV and Dish Network. The prices you cite are about right (as one-time rates) for DirecTV, the larger one of the two, with about two-thirds of the satellite market.
From your question, you seem to be looking for the cheapest "national" spots you can buy, so Dish Network may be the better choice.
"Top Tier" may as well not be a consideration, since you are persuing minusucle audiences, at best.
- Monday, June 24, 2002 #5375
Do you have any updated information on the number of ad messages the typical consumer is exposed to DAILY?
- The Media Guru Answers(Sunday, June 30, 2002 ):
This statistic is only used for "hype" purposes, usually to portray advertsing as some kind of social evil. The Guru has recently heard numbers cited between 3,000 and 20,000. These numbers are ludicrous. When challenged, those citing them will hedge and say they meant "informational messages" or some such and include product lables passed in a grocery store. The only way to get a total this high is to do exposure counting by a methood that would include, for example the idea that when a person turns the pages in a newspaper's classified section he is exposed to all 500 ads that might be on each spread of those pages.
When considering these silly numbers, it is best to stop and think: a person is usually only awake for about 1000 minutes per day. If they did nothing else but look at or listen to adverstising, it would take every minute of the day to generate 3000 exposures. A number aound 500 might be a reasonable extreme, again counting as exposure all the out-of-home media passed, and small space ads in newspapers and magazines,even thought there may be no notice taken at all.
- Monday, July 30, 2001 #4613
I have a twenty seven word ad with a two inch logo placed
in the centre of page. The ad is 3 x 5 inches in size
and is blue color.The logo has the word Destiny's placed over top of the logo.
and is in bolded black lettering
I was wondering how much this ad would cost me to
run in a paper;and when the best time to run this ad
would be (ie. days of the week)? It is an ad for a jazz coffee house. I was also
wondering if it would be better to run this ad as
a one time shot or as a continuous ad?
Would it also be a good idea to run this ad more than once a week?
- The Media Guru Answers(Monday, July 30, 2001 ):
The ad price will depend on the publication's rates. This could vary from over $16,000 in the New York Times to about $200 in the Zanesville, OH Times Recorder.
The blue color alone will account for 50% to 65% of the price of an ad this size. The likelihood of this ad running in the center of a page is slim, in the Guru's opinion, and if it did, it would be a page full of other, similar small ads.
Whatever paper you choose will advise you of the day on which most advertisers of this type run. Thursday and Friday and probably the most common for restaurants and clubs. Repetition will be needed for effectiveness, but once a week on the key day may be best.
Visit MediaPassage for rate and contact details of various newspapers.
- Monday, February 26, 2001 #4208
I am trying to come up with an estimate of the number of advertising messages the average adult is exposed to in the average day.
I remember seeing something on this somewhere, and I seem to recall a debate on the issue, but I can't find my source. Any suggestions?
- The Media Guru Answers(Monday, February 26, 2001 ):
It depends upon what you consider "advertising messages". If you mean TV / radio commericals, print and out-of-home ads, then the common estimates you see in the thousands are ludicrous. If yoiu assume a person is awake 16 hours per day and does nothing but consume media all day, the answer will be several hundred. Just think about TV and Radio's 20 or so per hour, or the number of ads you would see in an hour of reading newspaper and magazines.
The higher numbers are typically based on counting ecvery exposury to product names, logos and labels, as one might experience shopping in a store.
An issue of Consumer
Reports is the most recent place the Guru has seen such estimates.
- Monday, January 22, 2001 #4116
Dear Media Guru,
I am curious how you would flight print ads in a daily newspaper promoting a holiday sales event(say Valentine's Day, for example). If I have enough money for 6 ads, and the busiest in-store days are over the weekend, when should I run my ads? I usually run ads Wednesdays through Saturday (stores are not open on Sunday) for this client in an effort to support their weekend skewed sales, but Valentine's day is on a Wednesday, so I'm at a loss. Would it be best to place ads closest to the event (on the Monday or Tuesday before Valentine's Day) or the Wed - Sat the week before in hopes that people are shopping for that holiday over the weekend?
Thanks for your help.
- The Media Guru Answers(Thursday, January 25, 2001 ):
If your store client knows that its busiest days are ususally Wed-Sat, it should also have a history of the specifc days leading up to past Valentines Days. You know that you want to advertise right before the best shopping days, that's the media decision. But whchi days those are for your particular client is a matter of record, not a media question.
- Thursday, June 15, 2000 #3554
Do you have any suggestions for plotting an annual media plan spreadsheet? I have tried doing it in Excel, but it's sooooooooo laborious, and it doesn't appear MM+ offers it yet in our software package.
Do you know of any stand-alone programs?
- The Media Guru Answers(Thursday, June 15, 2000 ):
With a few tricks, it's not so hard in Excel. In the Guru's opinion, the keys are:
This is the most difficult part of creating a flow chart form. Then you just need to add month headers and summing on the right and bottom, and decide whether you are going to follow the standard broadcast calendar in defining months and quarters. All else is cosmetics.
Set up one wide column for media names.
Set the next 52 columns to a width of 2 characters
In the first row, in the same column as the first of the fifty two weeks (let's refer to this cell as "B2"), enter the date of the first Monday of your year, for example, 1/3/00. In the same row, in the next column (Cell C2) enter the next Monday's date, e.g. 1/10/00.
With your mouse, highlight these two cells. Then "grab" the little square at the lower right hand corner of the box and "drag" to the right until the dates of all 52 Mondays are automatically inserted.
Then, in the cell which will show just the day of the month of the first week, that is "3" under a month-wide, January header, enter the day function with a reference to cell B2 i.e. enter =DAY(B2). Then, copy this cell's contents across all 52 weeks. Now you have just the day of the month, which is needed to head each week.
Or, you could just buy Telmar's system, the All Media Planner, with "Flowmaster."
- Tuesday, August 24, 1999 #2739
Do you have a list of current MEDIA OPTIONS available?
I'm asking for non-traditional, new media vehicles that
reach a demographically and geographically targeted audience.
- The Media Guru Answers(Tuesday, August 24, 1999 ):
So the Guru assumes website banners are already on your list. There are several web-based enhancements and variations:
Interactive Banners with pull-down menus
Mini-sites (multipage, fully interactive, full motion ads/brochures)
Other multimedia web options.
Multi media cd-rom magazines seem to have had their day and passed
Essentially, "new media" are new ways to engage the senses and add new dimensions: Print engaged vision
only, then radio engaged hearing, then TV did vision and hearing plus motion. Cable merely fractionalized TV and the internet added activity to sight, sound and motion.
What might be next? Cinema advertising has been very big in Europe for years and seems to be growing here. Advertising delivered on the telephone, to pay for long distance calling is underway in at least two formats:
1: listen to some ads to build a credit of long distance minutes and
2: calls interupted by ads.
In the same vein, we see another new trend, free computers which continuously display ads in a part of the screen and free internet services (ISPs) which do the same.
- Wednesday, May 05, 1999 #2491
We recently completed a 12 week radio campaign in a test
market (79.2% reach & 12.5 frequency) for a client that
sells a food product in grocery stores. The client
experienced a 90% sales increase in this market at a time
that other markets maintained only single-digit increases.
The dilemma is that the post campaign research that was
done showed only a 9% recall (aided 3%, unaided 6%) of the
radio advertising. Do you have any information that will
help us to support the case tht although the radio ads
had a huge influence on sales, radio advertising is not
generally recalled easily by consumers? Another concern
is that these ads were tagged with grocery store names.
Could this have caused the respondents to be confused as
to who the advertiser was and in turn result in poor
recall? We realize this is a long question, but wanted
to give you all of the details. Thank you for your help!
- The Media Guru Answers(Thursday, May 06, 1999 ):
It is an interesting problem. More often you need to prove that a good recall result is good news, but here you have amazing sales results, and the Guru presumes that you can demonstrate the radio was the only variable.
Of course, it is possible that 9% recall in itself is such a big improvement that it can account for a 90% sales increase, especially if previous market share or penetration was very low.
It is also true that tagging the spots is likely to confuse the listener.
Great advertising generally only gets 25% or so day after recall. Did you have a pre test on recall to compare?
Generally, the best repository of useful researc in this topic is the Advertising Research Foundation InfoCenter For details about the InfoCenter, call 212-751-5656, extension 230.
- Tuesday, March 30, 1999 #2421
I am looking for a way to factor 'page exposure' data
into mainstream media metrics such as CPM or GRP. MRI
tracks and calculates page exposure using the following:
#_issues_read * %_of_pages_read)= avg_page_exposure
I believe such data would not only provide a more
accurate picture of a readers exposure to the ad pages
but could alter CPM & GRP rates.
CPM=(ad_rate/audience); audience=(circ * readers);
'readers' is thenumber of different set of eyes per
issue (single exposure). This number does not take
into account how long or to what extent the reader
looked at the publication -- it could be the mailman
delivering the magazine who remebers the cover or it
could denote a subscriber who reads the issue cover
to cover. Enter the issue of page exposure. Suppose
I am considering a magazine with a CPM of .01851 =
40,400/(704,000 * 3.1). However, if this same
magazine provided me with a page exposure rate of .99
= (3 * 1 * .33) -- which says that the audience takes
3 days to read the issue and reads about 33% of the
issue a day (which I know is unrealistic, but hear me
out). Now suppose I take the .99 exposure rate and
add it to the 'reader' and recalculate CPM ---
40,400/(704,000 * (3.1 +.99))= .01404 -- I get a much
Why can't I make this type of calculation with
page exposure data -- where is the break down in my
logic or math? Any insights would be GREATLY
appreciated. Thanks in advance!
- The Media Guru Answers(Thursday, April 01, 1999 ):
First, overall, yes it is a reasonable and not unusual concept to adjust CPM according to additional measured factors reported for magazines. However, there are some minor and some major issues with your process in terms of labels and decimal places, etc.
Yes, CPM is ad rate ÷ readers. Readers is circulation times readers per copy (refer to the explanation of MRI information which the Guru did for you in query #2403).
So the basic CPM -- cost per thousand impressions -- in your example is actually $18.51, assuming you mean $40,400 is your ad csot, 704,000 is circulation and 3.1 is readers per copy.
The exposure rate is a factor, not an add on. So the adjustment would be 3.1 times 0.99 or 3.069 or virtually no change. The cpm is now $18.70. If there was a very different page exposure factor it would make a difference. It is a valid way to reaxamine CPMs.
- Wednesday, March 24, 1999 #2405
I am doing research on television advertising. I was wondering
the method for companies to verify that the ads they paid for were
at the proper time. Is there currently a system for verifying the level
of accuracy in terms of broadcast quality as compared to the original
- The Media Guru Answers(Wednesday, March 24, 1999 ):
Most typically, advertisers rely on affadavits of performance. Stations render an invoice for a schedule which specifies which commercial ran at what day and time. An "affidavit" is simply an invoice which has been signed by a designated person at the station to swear to the content and then notarized.
However, some advertisers also want verification by a third party, whether regarding how the spots were scheduled or whether they had technical (broadcast quality) difficulties or ran too close to competing advertising. Services like CMR's BVS (Broadcast Verification Service) perform this kind of verification.
- Thursday, January 14, 1999 #2262
I am looking for a statistic that states what number of
advertisements the average Amercian is exposed to in
an average day. Can you help?
- The Media Guru Answers(Friday, January 15, 1999 ):
The Guru has seen figures from 1500 to 20,000. These are all used to enflame someone and sell some specific approach to advertising. Often, these statistics include exposure to product labels. Also the experience of someone walking city streets for a large part of their day is quite different than somone indoors in an office or out in a rural environment.
Let's try to give this some perspective.
If a person sleeps 8 hours and is awake 16 hours, then there are only 960 (16x60) minutes of the day when the person can be exposed to advertising. If one assumes that an average ad exposure consumes :30 seconds (allowing for radio :60's and 10 second promos) then, even if the person spent every waking minute doing nothing but looking at ads, the maximum exposure would be 1920. But no one's day is 100% advertisng. If you involve yourself in watching tv or listening to radio or reading magazines, ehich are probably the most ad-rich experiences of a person's day, then not more than one-third of your time would be spent being exposed to ads, so the maximum count drops to 640. Now try to imagine how much time of your day is ad-free, while you are in a business meeting, writing a report, digging a hole, etc. How much ad exposure time is left?
Sources like the Advertising Research Foundation will have articels with some of the claims, but remeber to consider them in the light of reality.
- Monday, October 26, 1998 #2114
Are there any current studies out that addresses clutter / attentiveness / dial switching due to expansion of commercial tv breaks? I.e. Threshold in number of minutes whereby at XXX break length viewer attentiveness / retention of commercial ads drops off?
While I know that program content, channel availability (cable versus non-cable) remote control, demographics, and time of day affect overall attentiveness, I'd like to see if a white paper was available to address this issue.
Your help is much appreciated.
- The Media Guru Answers(Sunday, November 01, 1998 ):
Since all the independent variables you cite are responses to many of the other driving forces you mention other than clutter, it is difficult to concieve research that would correlate attentivenss to growing clutter. On the one hand "clutter" might be defined as expansion of commercial breaks. On the other, it is almost assured that commercials within longer breaks are more likely to suffer form lowered attentiveness and channel swithching. Nielsen audience flow studies are available to correlate channel switching with timing within break. TVB or
CMR (Competitive Media Reports) reports should track trends in length and number of breaks
Generally, the Advertising Research Foundation library is the best source for published research on your broader topic. Their Journal of Advertising Research is the most prolific source.
One such article is by
Competitive Clutter in Network Television Advertising: Current Levels and Advertiser Responses. .
Large differences in competitive CLUTTER exist across product
No. 1, pp. 49-57. 1995 [351049J]
categories, markets, dayparts, and program types. This suggests several
alternative strategies are necessary to deal with growing CLUTTER.