35 matches were found
- Monday, October 27, 2003 #6221
I have looked for the answer to this question, but don't think it is out there... I want an average CPG for Magazine (cross all types of editorial- just a general value) and Newspaper. If you have seen an acceptable definition for Internet and/or Outdoor, I am all ears... Thank you in advance for any advice you can give!
- The Media Guru Answers(Friday, October 31, 2003 ):
Assuming you mean Cost per grp, this quest is pointless. At a minimum, defining a target demo is is necessary. Even then, averaging across "Juggs" and "New Republic," etc. to get a CPG for women 18-34 is meaningless.
For online or outdoor, the same demographic issues apply and the choices of media are virtually infinite. Nevetheless the Guru imagines that $5 - $8 cpm is realisltic for these latter media, generally.
- Saturday, June 21, 2003 #6029
Dear Guru, Please help me to clarify these issues :
- What CPT and CPM stand for ?
- Are the formulas to calculate them as follows :
- Impression and Reach in thousand are not the same,are they? Impression include duplication but the reach in thousand does not. Impression = Reach(000)x OTS?
- Therefore, there must be different b/w CPT & CPM. But it seems that most books consider them as the same.
- grp = OTS x Reach (%)or grp = Frequency x Reach (%)?
- Does OTS have some meaning of impression?
Since these issue confuse me now so much and I current get a stuck in preparing a report. Pls do reply me as soon as possible. Many thanks.
- The Media Guru Answers(Saturday, June 21, 2003 ):
You have tangled up several ideas and defintions. In different countries, some of these terms are used differently or not used. For example, in the Guru's base of the U.S., we do not use "opportunities to see (OTS)," and though you may be in Thailand, the Guru will not assume so.
CPM stands for cost per thousand impressions; the "M" is the Roman numeral M, meaning one thousand. CPT is not familiar in the US, but is probably another indicator of Cost per Thousand impressions.
The Guru most often sees "OTS" used as equivalent to "impressions" but sometimes as a reference to average frequency, so here are the simplest definitions.
"Impressions" are the number of advertising exposures, i.e. the number of different people exposed to advertising times the average number of occasions on which they are exposed. Thus, duplication is included.
"number of different people exposed" is equivalent to "reach."
"Number of occasions on which they are exposed" is equivalent to "frequency."
CPM is cost of advertising divided by impressions in thousands. Reach is not involved.
When reach is expressed as a percentage of a target group, then reach x frequency = grp.
- Tuesday, June 10, 2003 #6004
We have planned for our client (consumer product) for a TV campaign at prime time slot of Channel A where we are getting good grp (360 per week) and low CPRP. The campaign is for one month. At the same time we are also proposing to advertise on channels B & C as well. Though the ratings of these channels are not as good as channel A and CPRP at higher side, but the reason to advertise on channels B & C is to cater the audience of those channels as well otherwise we are duplicating the same audiences if we go only for channel A at prime time slot.
Now our client insisting that if we are getting the required grp with low CPRP from channel A, why should I go for channel B & C?
Please advise that should we go only for channel A or for channels B & C as well.
- The Media Guru Answers(Sunday, June 15, 2003 ):
The issue is in how you define "the required grp." If this level is based on a reach goal, effective frequency goal, or some similar communications standard, then the question is whether concentrating all the grp in one channel will achieve this goal.
Your question implies you have some basis for thinking that a portion of your target is only reachable on channels B & C. Presumably, you have a way of documenting that theory. This becomes your rationale for broadening your buy.
- Friday, April 25, 2003 #5950
In response to your answer of question: Tuesday, April 22, 2003 #5945.
I am grateful for this free service and respect your answers. However, your response, “How did they determine that people who have injuries will watch these programs? HAve they looked at / understood reach and frequency, IF this is the right programming?” This doesn’t answer my question.
Since their campaign uses a phone number and they get immediate response to their spots, we know the programs they are buying contain their prospects. My point is, they over-advertise in the same area day in, day out, week in, week out (my original over-saturation point). The easy way to prove my theory is to have them just cut back a small portion and buy other areas. They are reluctant to do so without other proof, first. So, my original question stands: How do you determine (using media formulas) that an advertiser has oversaturated a day part?
- The Media Guru Answers(Saturday, April 26, 2003 ):
The simple approach, based on media formulae is to look for the point where the reach curve flattens (around 80% in the example below). This is where added grp cease to add enough reach to be worthwhile, generally. But, your issue is one of definiton: What is "oversaturated?" In direct response terms, it's the point where response drops below an acceptable return on investment -- and apparently that has not happened. You would like to experiment with something new, which you apparently believe could have a greater ROI. If there has been any slackening in the response rate, that might justify a test.
- Friday, November 22, 2002 #5637
What's the definition of point of diminishing return and how it's applied?
- The Media Guru Answers(Friday, November 22, 2002 ):
This is not a purely media term. In general "point of diminishing returns" refers to the situation where additonal effort or spending begins to cause notable less results. A media example is the point where a reach curve "flattens." The first 10 grp may generate 10% reach, the next 10 grp adds 8 reach points. At 200 grp, the next 10 adds less than 1 reach point. The curve below is illustrative, with the point of diminshing returns somewhere around 250 - 300 grp
- Friday, September 20, 2002 #5521
what it the definition for grp
- The Media Guru Answers(Sunday, September 22, 2002 ):
Click here to see past Guru responses defining grp
- Tuesday, March 19, 2002 #5160
What is a grp
- The Media Guru Answers(Tuesday, March 19, 2002 ):
Click here to see past Guru responses defining grp
- Thursday, February 28, 2002 #5125
I need the grp (gross rating points) for a national ad. Im talking
about advertising a commercial nation wide. I need the national rate
at which the cost would be
- The Media Guru Answers(Monday, March 04, 2002 ):
A national ad must be defined further for a specific answer.
The Guru will assume you are talking about television. But the specific demographic is important. Whether your ad runs on cable or network and in what daypart is also crucial.
A national ad could have a rating of less than 0.1 or over 20.0. The cost could range from a few hundred dollars to a few hundred thousand dollars.
- Monday, February 11, 2002 #5078
Hi - My client wants a general guideline for scheduling strategies for a maintenance versus a launch campaign. The obvious answer is continuity versus burst, but could you advise on the number of weeks on and off air for both approaches? Including ideal grp levels?
Thanks a lot!
- The Media Guru Answers(Monday, February 11, 2002 ):
The primary factor here is budget. With adequate budget, continuity is always better even if levels vary at specific times. You need to determine what is an "adequate level" which you might define in terms of reach, or frequency or media mix, etc. For additional guidance, Click here to see Guru comment on recency.
- Sunday, November 11, 2001 #4876
I am developing a local cable buy for adults 18+, and working with two cable systems for coverage in one county. Can you provide me with some insight to accurately project cable tv reach and frequency, when the cable systems may not be able to provide ratings data for the county targeted. If I do receive estimated ratings from these systems, can I figure this the same as network buys are estimated, R X F = grps? I was also wondering if cable systems will typically "post" buys, as network stations do? Any insight you can provide in relation to estimating cable effectiveness would be appreciated. Thanks.
- The Media Guru Answers(Monday, November 12, 2001 ):
- The arithmetic defintions of Reach, Frequency and grp assures that R x F = grp always "works." But this doesn't help you figure anything out until you have two of the three terms.
- Your best assumption, lacking all other data is that R&F develops the same as CableNetwork
- If there are no actual ratings available, there is no basis for a "post."
If you are limited to only those cable channels with local availability, reach will be limited. If your target is narrow and matches the profile of some of these channels, which you will buy, enough frequency can produce an effective schedule. Remeber, it may take 500 spots to accumulate 50 grp, and reach will only be equal to some small portion of grp.
- Wednesday, June 20, 2001 #4500
Where can I find the report from Ron Lawrence,"Uniform Target Delivery:An Illusion,"Marketing and Media Decision,Desember 1987,in the internet?. The definition of target audience is still too vague for me because of some reason. An example : if i have a product with target audience ABC15+, and I want to find the best possible TV program to get higher Reach and optimal grp for my campaign at this target audience. Should I go directly to ABC15+ program or I go to A program first, second to B program and third to C program?. If I go to A program first, should I divided it again to Male and Female program?. This is very 'crucial' because most media planner in my country usually go directly to target audience ABC15+. Is it right or wrong?, what is strong and weakness for each methods?, where is the best methods? (go directly to ABC15+ or go to each segment first).thank/ AM-Indonesia
- The Media Guru Answers(Wednesday, June 20, 2001 ):
Assuming no part of the target is more important than the rest, you will most likely buy more efficiently on the specific target. It should not be difficult to examine different scenarios. Marketing and Media Decisions has been out of business for years, but back issues might be on file at The Advertising Research Foundation InfoCenter. For details about the InfoCenter, call 212-751-5656, extension 230. or ESOMAR, the European Survey, Opinion and Market Research Organization, or universities.
- Monday, March 05, 2001 #4230
In general (barring competitive factors), how many grps per week (tv and radio) constitute a light schedule, a medium schedule and a heavy schedule?
- The Media Guru Answers(Monday, March 05, 2001 ):
These are all relative terms, with no specific definitions. 100 grp might be medium to heavy for package goods and light to medium for short-term retail promotion.
- Tuesday, February 06, 2001 #4162
Hallo, Dear Media Guru! Can You please help me to solve the
1 - I know that my TVcmp should get effective reach of 50%
with effective frequency 4+. How can I get(count) the number of grp I need
to buy and TRP I need to reach?
2 - what concrete methods do can You recommend to define the levels of reach&frequency for concrete product's/brand's TV cmp. Thak you a lot.
- The Media Guru Answers(Wednesday, February 07, 2001 ):
The Guru is not clear as to what distinction you are trying to make regarding grp and TRP.
To determine the grp/TRP needed to achieve a specific reach / effective frequency goal, you need a media software like that provided by Telmar or eTelmar.
Click here to see past Guru discussion about establishing levels.
- Monday, November 13, 2000 #3965
Can you give a definitive explanation of media quintiles (radio, tv, newspaper)?
- The Media Guru Answers(Thursday, November 16, 2000 ):
Quintiles are used in two key ways:
- Quintiles of media, and
- Quintiles of schedules
Quintiles in either case involve dividing the people under consideration into five (quint-) equal groups for analysis. Why five? Why not? it has become the established method. Three groups would often be more useful: "average," "above average" and "below average" are easier to conceptualize. And some advertisers have considered "nine-tiles."
In media quintiles, the users of a medium, like radio, are divided into five equal groups, arrayed according to their heaviness of use, for example, the 20% of the population who listen to less than 3 hours of radio per week, those who listen to 3 to 6 hours, up through those who listen to 50+ hours. The range of hours of listening are set so that each range takes in 20% of the population. Then, other aspects of the behavior of these groups may be evaluated and lead to media or marketing decisions.
For example, if the lightest radio listeners are also light TV viewers, but the heavy newspaper readers, newspaper may be the best way to add reach to a radio plan and more evenly distribute frequency of exposure across all the people reached.
Quintiles of schedules are similar, but only consider those reached by a media schedule. For example if you had a radio schdule of 500 grp in four weeks with a reach of 70 and a 7.1 average freqency, you might find that the lowest frequency 20% of your schedule reached (14 reach ou of the 70) had an average frequency of 1.0 and the highest frequency quintilehad an average frequecy of 19.8. When you add newspaper to the plan you can examine each quintile of the combined reach and will likely find the least reached group of the new total has a better average frequency.
- Thursday, July 06, 2000 #3604
I've mostly handled print and DM advertising and am trying to master radio. If a client is saying that their optimum TRP level is 175, what does that mean?
- The Media Guru Answers(Monday, July 10, 2000 ):
Click here for a definition of TRP
Presumably, the client would be speaking of the TRP level which has produced nest results for the budget.
- Monday, June 05, 2000 #3529
Hi, I would like you to expain the terms, TG, TRP, CRP, grp, ROS, RODP and the basic difference between the trems. Thanks a ton!. Anjali
- The Media Guru Answers(Thursday, June 08, 2000 ):
- TG= Target group, the selected demographic or psychographic group against which a media plan or buy will be constricted
- TRP=Target Rating Points; the sum of the audiences of the all media insetions in a plan or schedule, expressed as a percentage of the target group population, such that 100 TRP indicates a summed audience equal to 100% of the group's population.
- grp= Gross Rating Points; this si essentially identical to TRP, except that some planners use grp only in reference to Household audiences and TRP for any other dempgraphic. Others use "grp" in all cases
- CRP= Cost per Rating Point ( some say CPP for "Cost Per Point"); Simply a division of the media's cost by the rating points (TRPs or grps) delivered
- RODP=Run of Daypart, also referred to as "daypart rotator," wherein a broadcast spot is purchased to air at anytime within a defined dayaprt, such as 6am to 10am, Monday thru Friday
- ROS=Run of Schedule or Run of Station, wheriein a broadcast spot is purchased to air at anytime from station sign-on to sign-off. Sometimes the term "Daypart ROS" is encountered. This is another version of Run of Daypart.
- Thursday, June 01, 2000 #3517
What is the general rule of thumb (in terms of number of :60 radio spots per week) in a non-metered market? The goal of the advertising campaign is awareness over a 7 month period (no weekly promotion to talk about - just letting people know about our business). In the past we have been running anywhere from 14 to 16 spots per week.
- The Media Guru Answers(Thursday, June 01, 2000 ):
The "overkill" level of frequency will depend on continuity among other things.
In a market too small to measure, the Guru imagines that there are relatively few radio stations, perhaps 12 or fewer, and average ratings might be 5 or better. So suppose 16 spots is about 100 grp. FOr reach you would still want to use more than one station, at least 12 times each.
Are you sure your market isn't measured, perhaps as part of a larger market as defined by Arbitron? Even tiny Lima, Ohio, the 201st of the 210 DMAs making up the entire country has ratings twice yearly. Check out Radio & Records.
- Tuesday, May 16, 2000 #3476
What is the usual time of TV copy worn-out? Please give me some examples of Western markets (I am writing from Poland). Is there a big difference when you use the same copy all the time or several versions (let's say - the same logo, text, packshot, but different scenario)? Please submit it to FMCG brands. Thanks in advance. Cezary
- The Media Guru Answers(Friday, May 19, 2000 ):
It depends on how you define wear out, which might be based on grps or frequency or sales rate.
Click here to see
extensive past Guru comment on wear out
- Wednesday, April 19, 2000 #3410
What is your opinion on using out-of-home (30-sheets or
bulletins) as a stand-alone medium for a brand-building
On a related note, are there any "rules" for adjusting
different types of media for their "impact" versus
other media (e.g., impact of an all-newspaper campaign
versus an all television campaign given the same TRP
levels and the same "likelihood of use" by the target
- The Media Guru Answers(Friday, April 21, 2000 ):
The Guru has seen impact adjusments across media based on recall, on attentiveness and on an advertiser's proprietary research, but no general rules-of-thumb.
Unfortunately, such adjustments are too often based on one unit of the advertising, such as a TV spot versus a radio spot, and don't take into account the crucial difference in number of spots or grps per dollar.
As for brand-building in outdoor, there are two principal considerations in the Guru's view:
- definition of "brand building:" The term, one of those nebulous buzz-words which seems to mean whatever the speaker wishes, implies, to the Guru, the creation of a brand image and positioning from a low-awarness start.
- Limited message: How much can a brand be "built" by the few words and large graphic allowable in out-of-home media?
- Yet, the Guru is very favorably inclined to taking advantage of the enormous reach and frequency possible via out-of-home
In short, the Guru's gut feeling is that outdoor can contribute greatly to brand building, but that the process needs at least one longer-form medium.
- Wednesday, April 19, 2000 #3407
Dear Media Guru,
could you tell me what you know about beta-coefficient for different media measuring the percentage of the target audience who remembered the brand or at least one of visual or text elements of message after the first contact. Do you have any statistics on beta-coefficients for different media?
- The Media Guru Answers(Friday, April 21, 2000 ):
"Beta-coefficient" is not a standard term in defining recall. It sounds like a measure of correlation of two metrics, perhaps grp and recall, which were cited in some unknown person's study.
For a collection of such studies, try The Advertising Research Foundation InfoCenter. For details about the InfoCenter, call 212-751-5656, extension 230.
- Tuesday, March 07, 2000 #3291
Is there a formula which calculates effective reach and
frequency? I know that reach x frequency=grp's, but how
can I determine what the effective reach and frequency
would be for 100 grp's or 150 grp's?
- The Media Guru Answers(Friday, March 10, 2000 ):
Of course there's a formula, but it can be immensely complicated. In fact, media planners rarely, if ever, considered effective frequency before computers became a part of everyday reach and frequency calculation in the 70's.
Your "reach x frequency=grp's" is not a formula, but merely the arithmetical relationship of these quantities as they are defined.
grps are the convenient weights and mesures we use in media buying. They are simple statistical measurements, whereas reach and frequency are more complex statistical models In some cases, there are relatively simple reach formulae derived from compiling the actual, measured reaches of actual schedules with known grps.
The formula is non-linear.
To find the effective reach of a schedule, you first determine level of frequency to consider "effective" and then examine the frequency distribution of the schedule to see how many people have been reached that number of times The frequency distribution shows exactly how many people have been exposed to each integral number of announcements in a schedule.
The math is based on non-linear functions. For any given reach and grp set, the frequency distribution can vary considerably depending on the media combined and the dayparts within the media.
- Thursday, January 13, 2000 #3119
I'm an advertising student and will be going out into the working world of advertising on a media buying internship in two weeks. I have one question which i would much like your input on. The question is as follows; Junior media buyers are routinely asked to book millions of dollars worth of advertising. But do they know enough about the vast complexities of media to do the job right?
- The Media Guru Answers(Wednesday, January 19, 2000 ):
No, they don't. But then again they aren't actually asked to do this. You have a somewhat oversimplified view of the roles, the Guru believes.
Junior buys operate within tighly defined limits on their authority to make spending decisions.
Over the course of a year a "junior buyer" at a large agency might book millions of dollars, a few tens of thousands at a time. Each time, in a properly run agency, there should be a set of buying parameters from a olanner which specifies the target group, amount of media weight, (grp or impressions) type of programming or environment, minimum audience size of an ad unit, cpm/cpp range, and perhasp even reach of the schedule.
With all these parameters properly set, there is little room fro a junior buyer to make a significant error. The job is to find the right media according to clearly set, mostly numerical, standards and then to negotiate the best possible price.
Additionally, there should be review of a junior buyers proposed buy by a supervisor.
If you find yourself in a situation without these controls, then you are not observing a professional media operation.
- Monday, September 27, 1999 #2830
I have read all your responses regarding recency. If you wouldn’t mind answering a few more, this is a multiple question predominantly regarding recency as a planning theory.
1) What Telemar program deals with TV R&F on a weekly basis?
2) Do the same audience accumulation formulas work for a one-week cume vs. 4wk or 52 wk?
3) When now planning an a weekly basis rather than a flighted basis are frequency guidelines or goals a consideration in the recency planning theory?
4) Has there been a clear industry swing relative to EF or recency yet?
5) A 1997 JAR article by Erwin Ephron cited some minimum target reach guidelines like 35 weekly, 65 four-week and 80 quarterly. Has there been anything more definitively determined since then (I noticed reply 2631 7/14/99 lowering the weekly reach to 30)?
6) For those espousing recency, is the trend to a 52 presence or extended flighting like 8-10 continuous weeks of each quarter?
7) On the Effective Frequency side, where the defacto goal has centered around the 3+ level, has the time frame shifted to anything other than a 4-week period?
- The Media Guru Answers(Wednesday, September 29, 1999 ):
1) Media Maestro and TV Buyer handle TV R&F.
2) No, formulas differ for one week, 4 week, and long term. 400 grp, spread ove differend programs might come close to exhausting the reach potential of one week's TV audience, but not if spread over 4 weeks or longer.
3) Recency planning is focused on weekly reach, and incorporates the concept that every exposure after the third one is at the 3+ level.
4) Some have adopted recency, some cling to effective reach. The Guru is not aware of any polls of agencies or advertisers, but suspects that recency is still growing in acceptance, but is a minority approach.
5) The reach minima are a bit loose, and 30 vs 35 is not a major point of contention.
6) The idea of recency is that being there whenever a purchase decision is made is ideal. Flighting, when continuity is affordable and there is no major seasonality is contrary to the principle.
7) Four weeks has always been somewhat arbitrary, likley stemming from the one-time dominance of monthly magazines. But it is a convenient benchmark. A logical approach can set a level other than 3+ or other than 4 weeks, etc.
- Thursday, August 19, 1999 #2726
I buy a base level of 500 Ad 18-49 TRP's per week; a typical flight will run 4 weeks --- for a total of 2000 TRP's. From this base buy, we usually split the base buy in 1/2 trafficking in two different spots (1000 / 1000 TRP's). At what level do you think that wear out will occur? Thanks for your help.
- The Media Guru Answers(Thursday, August 19, 1999 ):
What is your definition of wearout? A frequency level? A decline in ad awareness? A sales decline? There are may ways to set wearout.
One of the oldest, and easier to use because it is defined entirely by media measurement, is a certain frequency level in the next-to-highest quintile, perhaps a frequency of 20.
Depending on daypart mix, this might mean wearout at about 2000 grps for a spot.
- Thursday, July 29, 1999 #2669
What is the role and job definition of a media planner in a creative agency v/s that of an AOR agency ?
Does the creative agency media planner need to give detailed plan schedules which include channelwise grps in order to justify reach/freq objectives to the AOR agency?
- The Media Guru Answers(Saturday, July 31, 1999 ):
"AOR," or Agency of Record is a buying function and there is no inherent reason for a planner's role to be different. The planner should not need to "justify" anything to an AOR, assuming plans are approved by the client before buying instructions are communicated to the AOR.
Of course, there can be situations where specific rules have been set up going beyond the typical AOR role.
- Monday, July 19, 1999 #2643
Dear Guru! I've got the following question.
Our client has a product to advertise. He has set
advertising goals for the ad campaign. We defined
the level of effective frequency needed to reach
1. What is the range of effective reach? For example,
- The Media Guru Answers(Friday, July 23, 1999 ):
Media plan communications goals should specify a level of effective reach along with specifying the effective level of frequency.
Basic, as well as more advanced media software, calculates reach and frequency, frequency distribution and reach at various (effective) frequency levels. Input is typically grps.
Setting an effective reach goal can be based on gut, such as reaching the majority of the target at effective frequency levels in 4 weeks, or based on sales predictions. For example, this might be an estimate that 10% of those reached efectively will buy and X number of sales are the goal. Then 10 times X are the number who must be effectively reached.
- Friday, July 09, 1999 #2620
Hello GURU ! I have 2 questions for you : 1. One of the media analysis we do in our agency,mainly for TV, consists in comparing a competitor's share of spending (calculated as his % of advertising expenditure within the total category) with his share of voice (calculated as the % of his 30 sec equivalent grps within the category). Is this correct in your opinion ? 2. How do you define SOV ? Is this the % of the grps one achieve within a category or is it the % of money invested by an advertiser within a category in a certain period ? Thanks.
- The Media Guru Answers(Sunday, July 11, 1999 ):
1) What do you do with the results of this comparison? How does the ratio of SO$ to SOV help you make decisions? The :30 equivalent step is reasonable, but how do you do that effectively outside of broadcast?
2) Some use SOV to refer to share of spending, others use it to refer to share of weight. The Guru believes share of weight is more descriptive of the marketplace perceived by the consumer, but the person controlling the budget, that is, the client, more often cares about money. They can see the impact of money on the bottom line more easily than they can understand the differences in impact of their :30s versus a competitor's :15s or competitor's radio versus their own magazines.
- Tuesday, June 15, 1999 #2576
I'll launch a new 20" copy with a minimum grp's level (70 Reach A4W) during 13 weeks. The creative team is recommending a 10" lift for the fifth week. This, of course will give us more weight or more weeks on air (I must pay 15" instead of 10" because of the TV Network policies).
In cuantitative basis I will win using shorter copies but I would like to know how to evaluate the qualitative part to make the best recommendation.
Thanks in advance.
- The Media Guru Answers(Tuesday, June 15, 1999 ):
If 10" costs the same as 15", why use 10's instead of 15's? 15's must have advantages over 10's.
The important factor is the relationship to the cost of a 20". Years ago, when 30's had become the accepted U.S. standard, 15's were introduced and extensively evaluated. The general finding was that 15's had roughly 75% of the value of a 30' at half the cost, so they were a very good buy
defining "value" is the trick; is it recall, consumer motivation, sales effect? The archives of that old U.S. research will be available in the Advertising Research Foundation InfoCenter For details about the InfoCenter, call 212-751-5656, extension 230.
However, since you are writing from Mexico, it must be kept in mind that consumer reactions might differ, depending on what typical advertising units and exposure are for your consumers.
- Monday, April 05, 1999 #2431
I have a question regarding %US coverage with spot radio. An old boss of mine who has recently left the company had used DMA %ages rather than metro %ages when reflecting total US penetration on a spot radio buy we did. I am unsure as to why this was done. Can you provide a rationale for using DMA numbers here? Thanks.
- The Media Guru Answers(Monday, April 05, 1999 ):
To some extent it represents TV thinking and to another, it's more realistic.
DMA's are really a TV-defined area. Every U.S.county is assigned to one DMA or another -- except for some oddities in Alaska. So the sum of all DMAs is 100% of the U.S. with no duplication. The definition is based on which TV market gets the bulk of a county's viewing. In each market, the central city VHF stations generally reach the whole DMA. Spot TV buys are usually planned on a DMA rating/grp basis.
Radio, on the other hand, is usally planned on a metro point basis. Even the strongest radio stations, audience-wise, rarely reach the outer areas of DMA's. In each DMA there are one or more Metros. Because the population of the DMAs concentrates in the metros, buys in the metros are treated as if they covered whole DMAs, and indeed, radio coverage is gernerally wider than the metro.
In the U.S. there are roughly 10 times as many radio stations as TV sations, many surviving because they cover out-of-the way areas, but others simply because we will buy small, select audiences. Consider the New York DMA. Largest in population, one of the smallest in geography, but with about 50 reportable commercial radio stations and about 9 commercial TV stations.
- Tuesday, February 16, 1999 #2338
Ambient media is defined as the "rapidly expanding
sector of non-traditional out-of-home opportunities
that surround us."(Concord Ambient Media Report 1998)
My dissetation topic is concerned with measuring and
improving the accountability of this sector, what is
the best way to get started?
- The Media Guru Answers(Wednesday, February 17, 1999 ):
The Guru would recommend that you begin with a review of the literature concerning the move by 30-sheet and 8-sheet outdoor from arbitrary sales of "showings" to a grp system, in the late '70's and 80's.
- Tuesday, September 08, 1998 #2031
I'm new in the Advertising field. I would like to know
how to calculate the Target Market Reach1+, Reach2+,
abd the Average Frequency.
- The Media Guru Answers(Wednesday, September 09, 1998 ):
The answer depends upon what data you are starting with. At its most simple,
"1+" reach is the same as just saying "reach". If you know the grps, and the reach, then the average frequency is calculated by dividing reach into grps.
At bottom however, in each medium, TV, radio, print, etc. reach was actually measured at some point, rather than calculated . That is, using respondent level measurement, such as Nielsen or MRI or Simmons, actual schedules advertiser were evaluated for gross audience accumulated and the net reach accumulated, as well as how many people saw exactly one advertisement in the schedule, how many saw 2, how many saw three, and so on. As the Guru stated above, reach is defined as those who saw one or more (1+) advertisements. 2+ or 3+, etc, is determined by adding those exposed to each discreet number of ads.
Taking the results of many of these schedules as a scatter graph, a classic reach curve may be plotted. Or, by arraying grps and frequencies in a table, a formula equivalent to the curve can be determined statistically. This formula then becomes a "model" for calculating reaches of other schedules in similar media. Formulae for 2+, 3+ frequencies can also be calculated. There are no simple formulas for doing this. "Beta Bimodal" is one statistical function frquently used. These functions and models are usually built into large computer media planning systems like Telmar's.
- Saturday, March 15, 1997 #1303
Dear Guru. I have some questions about RADIO media-planning:
1. Could you recommend the book(s) which contains:
a) definitions of the standard coefficients:
grps, Reach, Frequency, Time Spend Listening (TSL), Average Rating
b) Information about statistical models used for computing these numbers
c) Sample outputs from radio media-planning software
2. I have download an educational software from University of Texas. Do you know any other places
where can I import demo or edu software for media-planning
3. TSL is additive what means that:
a) TSL for (say) 3 hours is a sum of appropriate 12 quater data
b) TSL for a whole day is a sum of 12 x 4 quater values
c) TSL for (say) three stations is a sum of appropriate three components
But what is the behaviour of the Average Rating in these three, described above, cases?
- The Media Guru Answers(Thursday, April 24, 1997 ):
Radio planning is covered in general planning texts, such as Sissors and Bumba,
mentioned in the adjoining Guru answer. The booklet provided by the
RAB (Radio Advertising Bureau) will give you the definitions you want. So would a technical reference manual
Since TSL, (time spent listening) is behavior expressed as a quantity and
attached to one station at a time by one listener, the TSLs may be added together.
This is different than ratings which are percentages and can only be combined or
averaged with weightings according to the population groups projected.
- Monday, August 05, 1996 #1171
In regards to print advertising, what is a wear-out report? What data do I need to complete this report (reach, frequency, formulas)?
- The Media Guru Answers(Thursday, August 08, 1996 ):
The Guru has discussed Wear Out previously (see below July 17 and May 7).
A wear out report would state the status of various print executions in your campaign in comparison to the wear out standard you have established.
Clients have a way of asking the wear out question without setting a standard or even being able to decide how to set one.
Essentially an ad is worn out when it loses all or most of its ability to accomplish its marketing purpose with its target. The purpose may be as simple as product sales, or lead generation in a direct response campaign, or it may be as difficult to define as building brand imagery or awareness of a specific product benefit. Since directly relating any of these to a specific ad would require custom research, it is typical to use whatever research has been done in the past as related to easily modelled media measurements, such as reach, frequency, grps or quintiles.
For example if in the past, a custom study showed the average ad was worn out at a time when the planners knew that 80% of the target had seen it 8 or more times, or when the frequency in the top 2 quintiles passed 30. (Don't use these examplenumbers). Naturally, different ads perform differently, but you will need to work on an average basis.
A wear out report then becomes a matter of reporting something like how many of thetarget have seen the ad at least "x" times, or that the frequency in the top 2quintiles will exceed the standard measure as of a certain month of the schedule, or"X" number of grps will have run for the ad by some date.
The key is knowing how one of these media measures relate to your wear out standard. Then the report is a simple task.
- Wednesday, July 17, 1996 #1179
Do you know any research about how much average frequency is enough before the consumer turns against the advertised product. I mean before they are fed up with the ad. I would like some articles or tables about different product categories concerning this effect.Thank you.
- The Media Guru Answers(Thursday, July 18, 1996 ):
There does not seem to be any definitive research on this. Planners dread the question "when is the campaign worn out" almost invariably asked without any definition of "wear-out." Certainly some ads are less enduring in terms of selling ability, which may have little to do with consumers being "fed up." Some advertisers use frequency in top quintiles as a guide, some just accumulated grp, others study the competitive environment and clutter of their usual advertising media.
The "propinquity theory" gaining in appreciation argues for lower frequencies and if it catches on generally, may change the concept of wear out. Probably the best source of published study and opinion would be the Advertising Research Foundation Library
- Friday, March 08, 1996 #1266
Guru:Is there a formula for calculating reach & frequency for trade vehicles.
- The Media Guru Answers(Sunday, March 10, 1996 ):
There is no truly simple formula for calculating reach and frequency of any medium. The key datain print R&F are pair-wise duplication between different vehicles and between two or more insertions in the same vehicle.
As the number of insertions in a plan increase, the number of data elements to include in a formula increase. The number of possible pairings for just a 10 insertion plan is 45 ((n x n-1) / 2).
Telmar among others, offers software designed to quickly perform these calculations on defined schedules of media measured by SMRB, MRI, MMR, J.D. Power or others. Using measured media as prototypes, reach of various schedules you might want to consider could then be calculated. From these numerous calculations, you could, by regression analysis, develop a "simple" formula of the form y=ax+b to calculate frequency based on grp of typical plans of the sort you run in these media (y is frequency; x is grp; a and b are factors from the regression).
A formula of this kind is very specific to the audience dynamics of the media vehicles involved. Please understand, this is not a recommended technique, merely a response to your question.